Viareggio, new European kings!

The bianconeri win the Euro Winners Cup 2016 after staying perfect in the penalty shootout against Artur Music

Viareggio Beach Soccer wrote today the most brilliant page of their history, after clinching the Euro Winners Cup trophy in a hair-raising final. The Italian side reacted in the last period of their game against Artur Music to finally seal the win from the penalty kick spot. 

The early advantage by the Ukrainian side, with 2-0 just two minutes into the game, seemed to point to a happy march to the title for Artur Music. But Viareggio was ready to fight for the equaliser as many times as needed. 

After Gori’s 2-2, Borsuk and Stankovic restored the 2-goal advantage for Artur Music, who managed to stay ahead almost for the rest of the game. But only almost. When everything seemed lost for the Translpine, Marinai managed to send the game to extra time, giving a bit more air to his team. 

After the additional three minutes, the game flew to the penalty kick shootout. From the 9-meter distance, Viareggio stayed absolutely perfect and took advantage of Zborovskiy’s missed attempt to snatch the Euro Winners Cup throne for the first time in their history.  

Goals:1-0: Rysenko, min. 11 (1); 2-0: Stankovic, min. 10 (1); 2-1: Ozu, min. 1 (1); 2-2: Gori, min. 11 (2); 3-2: Borsuk, min. 11 (2); 4-2: Stankovic, min. 10 (2); 4-3: Valenti, min. 8 (2); 5-3: Borsuk, min. 6 (2); 5-4: Ramaciotti, min. 5 (2); 6-4: Glutskyi, min. 1 (2); 6-5: Ramaciotti, min.6 (3); 6-6: Marinai, min. 1 (3)

Penalty shoot kick out; Stankovic: in; Ozu: in; Korniichuk: in; Remedi: in; Butko: in; Gori: in; Rysenko: in; Valenti: in; Glutskyi: in; Ramaciotti: in; Borsuk: in; Marinai: in; Zborovskyi: out; Carpita: in.


Braga’s comeback gives them the bronze

SC Braga improved their 2015 registers, following a narrow win over hosts Domusbet Catania that send the Minho warriors third in this edition of the Euro Winners Cup. 

The Portuguese side came from 4-2 behind in the last frame, turning the score around in just two minutes thanks to the hits by Taiarui, Belchior and Leo Martins.

Jordan’s rockets and Rodrigo’s magic were not enough for the hosts today, despite spending most of the game in the driver’s seat. The late reaction by Braga was too much to cope with for Della Negra’s lads, who saw their chances of earning the third place vanish in the last stage of the game.  

Goals: 1-0: Fred, min. 9 (1); 1-1: Gabriel, min. 11 (2); 2-1: Rodrigo, min. 5 (2); 3-1, Jordan, min. 3 (2); 3-2: Belchior, min. 9 (3); 4-2: Jordan, min. 7 (3); 4-3: Taiarui, min. 5 (3); 4-4: Belchior, min. 4 (3); 4-5: Leo Martins, min. 2 (3).


Chargers Baselland upset Lokomotiv for fifth place

BSC Chargers Baselland sealed a fifth-place finish after a laudable win over 2013 champions Lokomotiv Moscow. The Alpine managed to control the game all throughout and upset the Muscovite with a pretty loud score. 

Doubles by Dmais and Bryan had the work pretty much done for the Swiss side. Lokomotiv battled for most of the first two periods, but the third frame was absolutely controlled by Chargers. A 4-0 run in those last 12 minutes finished the game, giving the Alpine side the fifth position in this year’s Euro Winners Cup. 

Goals: 1-0: Sailer, min. 3 (1); 2-0: Werder, min. 11 (2); 2-1: Shkarin, min. 9 (2); 3-1: Dmais, min. 7 (2); 3-2: Fernando, min. 3 (2); 4-2: Bryan, min. 11 (3); 5-2: Dmais, min. 10 (3); 6-2: Bryan, min. 2 (3); 7-2: Mo, min. 1 (3).


Terracina capture 7th place from the penalty-kick spot

It took ten goals, one extra time, one last-second equalizer and twelve penalty shots to decide who would earn the seventh position in this Euro Winners Cup 2016. ASD Terracina finally upset Russia National Champions Krylya Sovetov to prevail in their last game in Catania. It might not be very relevant in terms of qualification, but Terracina will add to this victory to get stronger, wiser, better. Winning the champions of the Russian League, considered by many one of the top favourites in the competition, is always something to feel proud of. 

Goals: 0-1: Bokinha, min. 1 (1); 0-2: Brishtel, min. 9 (2); 1-2: Perera, min. 7 (2); 2-2: Palmacci, min. 5 (2); 3-2: Frainetti, min. 3 (2); 3-3: Filipe, min. 2 (2); 3-4: Katarino, min. 2 (2); 3-5: Filipe, min. 7 (3); 4-5: Souza, min. 2 (3); 5-5: Souza, min. 0 (3).

Penalty Kick Shoot out: Perera: in; Bryshtel: in; Palmacci: in; Filipe: in; Cesar: out; Bokinha: out; Frainetti: in; Katarino: in; Spada: in; Raskin: in; Olleja M: in; Shmonin: out.





MVP: Rodrigo (Domusbet Catania BS)

Top Scorer: Gabriele Gori (Viareggio BS)

Best goalkeeper: V. Sydorenko (Artur Music)




Runner-up: Artur Music (UKR)

3rd place: SC Braga (POR)

4th place: Domusbet Catania BS (ITA)

5th place: BSC Chargers Baselland (SUI)

6th place: Lokomotiv Moscow (RUS)

7th place: ASD Terracina (ITA)


8th place: Krylya Sovetov (RUS)

Latest News

All news +

Official partners