Acassuso claim third Torneo Transición title

The final of the 2021 edition was played at the Polideportivo Eva Perón in Lanús, Argentina

Acassuso have retained the Torneo Transición trophy in Argentina!

They beat their Racing rivals by four goals to two in the final, which was held at the Polideportivo Eva Perón in Lanús. 

The game was broadcast live on the AFA Desarrollo YouTube channel, in a pioneering event for the sport in Argentina. 

Both teams had qualified as leaders of the 2019-2020 opening tournament, when it was suspended due to the COVID pandemic, without having defined a champion.

There were only two goalscorers in the six-goal match; four were scored by Acassuso’s Luciano Sirico, while Racing replied twice through Carlos Rivera.

It was a dream game for the Acassuso and Argentine national team player, who scored all of his club’s goals and opened the scoring early in the first period.

Racing held their own in the match though, as Carlos Rivera converted a penalty in the second period, and then smashed in a spectacular bicycle kick with seven minutes on the clock.

But they didn’t manage to catch the rampant Acassuso, who claimed their third consecutive title and also qualified for the National Beach Soccer League. This tournament will provide a place at the Copa Libertadores 2021, which will kick off in Rosario in late November.

Latest News

All news +

Official partners