Untitled design
BSWW Mundialito Nazaré 2019
15 Aug 2019

Portugal retain the Munidalito!

An initially tight game against Spain saw Narciso’s boys maintain a perfect run to lift the trophy as Senegal take second

The hosts have done it again! A full stadium cheered on their heroes as Portugal put four past a youthful Spanish side to register back-to-back Mundialito titles.

Senegal ended their debut appearance in the competition with a second-place finish after beating Spain and Japan, whilst La Roja take up third.

Unable to pick up any points, Ruy Ramos’ Japan finished in fourth.

Jordan as awarded the MVP and four goals was enough for him to take home the top scorer trophy aswell, while teammate Andrade won best goalkeeper.


Portugal 4-2 Spain

Just a win away from retaining the Mundialito crown, the locals burst onto the pitch with energy and 19-year-old Brilhante volleyed in a powerful opener to get Portugal off the mark, and the crowd on their feet.

However, a Javi Torres equalizer soon took the wind out of their sails and the hosts lost momentum. A series of brilliant stops by the world’s best keeper, Andrade, kept the fans applauding but it was a sign of the sudden Spanish domination.

The second period began with the scores still tied thanks to the big number 12, but Spain were knocking at the door. Then Bruno Torres found space to put away a fantastic overhead and Mario Narciso’s side were ahead once more.

Jordan converted a freekick – his fourth goal of the tournament - to extend the lead and after an initial wobble, the European gold medalists looked in control. Belchior then scored another to make it four and time was running out for Joaquin Alonso’s men.

Chiky pounded in a sublime bicycle kick to cut the deficit to two once again but the final whistle went with Portugal ahead by four goals to two and the stadium erupted.

The Mundialito stays in Portugal for a second year, and on top of that the local squad picked up all three individual awards. Andrade won Best Goalkeeper while Jordan claimed both Top Scorer and MVP.

Who will knock Narciso’s men off the topspot..?

Goals: 1-0: Brilhante, min. 11 (1); 1-1: Javi Torres, min. 6 (1); 2-1: Torres, min. 7 (2); 3-1: Jordan, min. 1 (2); 4-1: Belchior, min. 9 (3); 4-2: Chiky, min. 7 (3);


Japan 2-3 Senegal *AET

Senegal had downed Spain in yesterday’s match and could go level on points with Portugal if they won in normal time today, but Japan were yet to register a win and, although they were now out of the running for the title, were looking to go home with some points.

Keeper Kawai blasted in the opener to get the Samurais off the mark. This stunning shot was followed by another from Diassy to level up. 

The second period began with Yamauchi hitting a belter to retake the lead but that man Diassy struck again, turning his defender to power home a second for Senegal.

It looked as if the men in blue were in front again, but a long range Ozu missile was just tipped over the bar by Al Senyi.

With just 12 minutes left to play, it was clear that this was a close match-up and the teams were neck and neck but the winner didn’t come and the game went to extra time. 

It was then that Diagne struck his third of the tournament, and Senegal’s third of the match, to wrap up the win and clinch two points for the Africans, as Japan leave Nazaré winless.

Goals: 1-0: Kawai, min. 9 (1); 1-1: Diassy, min. 6 (1); 2-1: Yamauchi, min. 11 (2); 2-2: Diassy, min. 9 (2); 2-3: Diagne, min. 0 (ET);


Final standings:


2nd: Senegal 

3rd: Spain

4th: Japan


Individual awards:

Best goalkeeper: Andrade (POR) 

Top scorer: Jordan (POR)

MVP: Jordan (POR)


February 12, 2020 - February 16, 2020
Group Stage - Group A
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 3 2 0 1 13 11 2 6
Lokomotiv LOK 3 2 0 1 25 15 10 6
Levante1 LUD 3 1 0 2 19 16 3 3
2019 alanya belediyespor ABS 3 1 0 2 15 30 -15 3
Group Stage - Group B
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 2 1 0 17 7 10 8
Braga SCB 3 2 0 1 18 13 5 6
Flamengo FLA 3 1 0 2 11 13 -2 3
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 3 0 0 3 8 21 -13 0
Play-off for 7th Place
Grasshopper club zurich GCZ 4 - 8 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Play-off for 5th Place
Levante1 LUD 7 - 2 GCZ Grasshopper club zurich
Flamengo FLA 6 - 5 ABS 2019 alanya belediyespor
Levante1 LUD 5 - 4 FLA Flamengo
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 7 SCB Braga
Spartak logo copia web SPK 3 - 1 LOK Lokomotiv
Play-off for 3rd place
Tokyo verdy emblem 2020 TKV 2 - 6 LOK Lokomotiv
Braga SCB 8 - 3 SPK Spartak logo copia web
Country TV
Banner livebroadcast
Store puma