Portugal win third consecutive EBSL Superfinal

Narciso’s side put seven past Belarus in the final to claim a record-equalling third title in a row

Portugal have done it again!

Leo Martins and Jordan starred once more as Portugal put seven goals past Belarus to claim an historic third consecutive title, Only Spain have achieved this record, way back in 2001.

Leo Martins won the MVP award, while Russia’s Boris Nikonorov scored ten goal to finish the tournament as Top Scorer and Kanstantsin Mahaletski made sure that one trophy at least returned to Belarus, winning the Best Goalkeeper award.


Portugal had reached their third Superfinal in as many years and were on familiar ground, but it was a very different story for their opposition.

In recent years, Belarus have shone under the coaching of Spaniard Nico Alvarado, shocking the beach soccer world by qualifying for the last two FIFA Beach Soccer World Cups, and reaching their first-ever Superfinal was just the latest chapter in a remarkable beach soccer story.

However, they were behind when Leo Martins hit two and Jordan converted before the first whistle. Jordan scored again after the break as did Pinhal, seizing control of the final with ease and the crowd cheered their every move.

Andre Lourenço added his name to the historic match report with a quick-fire brace, but Ryabko finally got Alvarado’s side off the mark. This sparked a rally in the Belarussian ranks, as Chaikouski, Novikau and Piatrouski also found the net and threaten to mount what would have been an incredible comeback.

But with six minutes to play, and the score at 4-7, the Portuguese defenders held firm to see the match out and quash a potential turnaround to win their third consecutive final!

Goals: 0-1: Leo Martins, min. 2 (1); 0-2: Jordan, min. 2 (1); 0-3: Leo Martins, min. 0 (1); 0-4: Pinhal, min. 7 (2); 0-5: Jordan, min. 3 (2); 0-6: Lourenço, min. 11 (3); 1-6: Ryabko, min. 10 (3); 1-7: Lourenço, min. 10 (3); 2-7: Chaikouski, min. 10 (3); 3-7: Novikau, min. 9 (3); 4-7: Piatrouski, min. 6 (3);

ESP 3-5 ITA (3rd place)

Always a thrilling tie, yet another Spain versus Italy proved to be a predictably fierce battle, where the Italian talisman Gabriele Gori made all the difference.

Two classic Euro Beach Soccer League teams – Spain having five titles and Italy two – but the prize today was a third-place finish. First blood went to La Roja, as Antonio was set up expertly by Edu Suarez to volley in the first goal.

Pablo Perez then pounced to make it two, but it didn’t take long for Gori to join the fun, and soon after, fellow Viareggio boy Marinai levelled from distance.

Then it was all Gori, as he hit three in quick succession to put the game out of Spanish reach, taking his tournament tally to nine.

Italy take third, their best finishing position since their title in 2018, as Spain settle for fourth.

Goals: 1-0: Antonio, min. 9 (1); 2-0: Pablo Perez, min. 7 (1); 2-1: Gori, min. 5 (1); 2-2: Marinai, min. 8 (2); 2-3: Gori, min. 1 (2); 2-4: Gori, min. 0 (2); 2-5: Gori, min. 7 (3); 3-5: Cintas, min. 3 (3);

RUS 12-4 SUI (5th place)

Finishing the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in as winners and third-place finishers, Russia and Switzerland now faced off for the EBSL fifth place.

Keeper Parkhomenko blasted in the opener from distance for Russia, Stankovic then buried an equalling goal but from that moment on, it was all Russia…

Nikonorov scored the first of his four goals of the day, while Paporotnyi and Zemskov added to the lead before the break. The second period began with Russia leading 5-1 and Paporotnyi soon made it six before a brilliant Borer brace slashed the deficit momentarily.

But Likhachev’s men were in imperious form today, and a late appearance by Kotenev, seeing the young striker hit a brace, took the final score to an incredible 12-4!

The world champions confirmed their fifth-place finish in style as a well-beaten Swiss take sixth.

Goals: 1-0: Parkhomenko, min. 11 (1); 1-1: Stankovic, min. 10 (1); 2-1: Nikonorov, min. 8 (1); 3-1: N. Kryshanov, min. 5 (1); 4-1: Zemskov, min. 4 (1); 5-1: Paporotnyi, min. 3 (1); 6-1: Paporotnyi, min. 11 (2); 6-2: Borer, min. 8 (2); 6-3: Borer, min. 8 (2); 7-3: Zemskov, min. 6 (2); 8-3: Nikonorov, min. 4 (2); 8-4: Spacca, min. 2 (2); 9-4: Nikonorov, min. 1 (2); 10-4: Nikonorov, min. 10 (3); 11-4: Kotenev, min. 7 (3); 12-4: Kotenev, min. 0 (3);

POL 3-7 UKR (7th place)

Having faced Europe’s top three sides in the world ranking in Group 2, Ukraine ended the group stage without any points and took on Poland on Day 4, who had also finished in fourth.

One last win and a seventh-place finish was the reward in this tie and goals at either end of the opening period saw the sides level at the first break.

But Ukraine pulled ahead as the match progressed, with Shcherytsia, Voitok and Borsuk each netting twice to secure a final-day win.

Goals: 1-0: Baran, min. 11 (1); 1-1: Borsuk, min. 1 (1); 1-2: Borsuk, min. 8 (2); 1-3: Voitenko, min. 1 (2); 1-4: Shcherytsia, min. 1 (2); 1-5: Voitok, min. 11 (3); 1-6: Shcherytsia, min. 10 (3); 2-6: Baran, min. 6 (3); 3-6: Bistula, min. 3 (3); 3-7: Bistula, min. 1 (3);

For full details on the EBSL Superfinal and Promotion Final, including fixtures, results and standings, head to beachsoccer.com.

Latest News

All news +

Official partners