Paraguay win their first CONMEBOL Sub20 Beach Soccer title

Brazil finish second and Chile finish third in Iquique

The Paraguayan national team clinched the championship undefeated in the 2023 CONMEBOL Sub20 Beach Soccer tournament. Led by an exceptional performance from Milcíades Medina, the team defeated Brazil 5-3 in the final and were fueled by the foundation of the Club Presidente Hayes, the reigning champion of the CONMEBOL Libertadores Beach Soccer.

The Paraguayan squad secured their inaugural title in the third edition of the competition, triumphing in the final match held on Sunday, August 13th, at the Arena Cavancha in the city of Iquique, Chile.

Under the guidance of Joaquín Molas, the team dominated from start to finish, becoming undisputed champions of the tournament with a flawless record, tallying a total of 41 goals throughout the competition.

Meanwhile, the Brazilian team, another strong contender, only suffered defeat in the final and finished as runners-up in the overall standings. Chile, on the other hand, claimed a spot on the podium by winning in a penalty shootout against Colombia for third place.

The final – Paraguay 5-3 Brazil
The match’s proceedings favored Paraguay from the outset, as they took a two-goal lead courtesy of goals from Milcíades Medina and Sebastian Aguiar.

The “Verdeamarela” managed to reduce the deficit through Sikinha; however, the Pynandis quickly extended their lead once again with another goal from their captain, making it a temporary 3-1 advantage.

A powerful strike from goalkeeper Rainer in the third period threatened Paraguay’s lead, which ultimately ended up being equalized by Brazil’s number 10, one of the top scorers of the tournament.

Yet, the determination and perseverance of Mediana prevailed once again in the game’s climax, as he scored two more goals to secure Paraguay’s first-ever title in their history.


Latest News

All news +

Official partners