Lokomotiv win record third Mundialito de Clubes title!

The hosts beat reigning champions Braga in Wednesday’s final to claim a record-breaking trophy

Lokomotiv Moscow have returned to the top of the Mundialito de Clubes podium!

Their third title takes them ahead of Braga as the most team with the most Mundialito titles.

Boris Nikonorov starred as the Muscovites defeated SC Braga, who have held the title since 2019, in a tense final on Wednesday.

In a true portrayal of how much of a part he played in his team’s success, Nikonorov took home both the Top Scorer award, with eight goals, and the tournament MVP award, while the Best Goalkeeper was awarded to Braga’s Brazilian, Rafa Padilha.

BSC Lokomotiv 6-4 SC Braga (FINAL)

Captain Torres got Braga off the mark after less than two minutes, Zemskov volleyed in a corner soon after, but Lucao was given too much space and time in the middle of the pitch to smash in a bicycle kick.

Kosharnyi, nominated in the top three goalkeepers in the world, showed his attacking value too when he blasted in an equaliser.

Boris Nikonorov, fresh from winning the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup with Russia, took the game by the horns and smashed in three brilliant goals to see the hosts leading at the second break, despite strikes from both Martins brothers.

The final period was a furious battle, as the hosts desperately held on to their slim lead against some of the world’s very best attacking beach soccer players, who mounted attack after attack with equal desperation.

The 5-4 scoreline remained intact until Swiss star recruit Borer netted his second of the campaign to push the advantage to two.

Try as they might, the minutes became seconds for the defending champions as their title slipped away, and at the final whistle – there was only one winner.

Three Mundialito de Clubes finals, three trophies – today BSC Lokomotiv made history.

Goals: 0-1: Torres, min. 10 (1); 1-1: Zemskov, min. 9 (1); 1-2: Lucao, min. 7 (1); 2-2: Kosharnyi, min. 11 (2); 3-2: Nikonorov, min. 10 (2); 4-2: Nikonorov, min. 8 (2); 4-3: Be Martins, min. 6 (2); 4-4: Leo Martins, min. 5 (2); 5-4: Nikonorov, min. 4 (2); 6-4: Borer, min. 3 (3);

Vasco da Gama 10-6 FK Dinamo Minsk (3rd place)

The former champions Vasco da Gama took on Dinamo Minsk from Belarus for third place in the penultimate game of the 2021 Mundialito de Clubes.

An incredible volley from Italian international Josep Jr saw Vasco ahead in the first period. The second kicked off with a frantic flurry, seeing three goals scored in just seven seconds of play, as Bokinha hit a brace and Chaikouski finally got Dinamo off the mark.

A quick-fire Ryabko double made it 3-3 but Benjamin Jr and former Best Player in the World Mauricinho retook the two-goal advantage heading into the final period.

A barrage of Bokinha goals, seeing the Brazilian take his tally to four for the match, put it beyond a Dinamo comeback, as the rampant Vasco hit no less than 10, cruising to a respectable third place for the first-ever champions of the Mundialito de Clubes.

Goals: 1-0: Josep Jr, min. 8 (1); 2-0: Bokinha, min. 11 (2); 2-1: Chaikouski, min. 11 (2); 3-1: Bokinha, min. 11 (2); 3-2: Ryabko, min. 11 (2); 3-3: Ryabko, min. 10 (2); 4-3: Benjamin Jr, min. 5 (2); 5-3: Mauricinho, min. 4 (2); 6-3: Josep Jr, min. 11 (3); 7-3: Jordan, min. 11 (3); 7-4: Novikau, min. 11 (3); 8-4: Benjamin Jr, min. 10 (3); 8-5: Bokach, min. 9 (3); 9-5: Bokinha, min. 8 (3); 9-6: Chaikouski, min. 8 (3); 10-6: Bokinha, min. 0 (3);

Club Nacional 2-5 Tokyo Verdy (5th place)

Having won and lost a game each was enough for the South American and Asian clubs to meet in the playoff for fifth on their final day in Moscow.

Nestor Medina added yet another goal to his tally to open the scoring midway through the first period but a Datinha double seized control for the Tokyo side. Rodrigo then slotted in a third with seconds of the first period left.

Carlos Carballo netted his fifth of the tournament with a sensational finish, but the link-up play of Rodrigo and Ozu was unstoppable for the Paraguayan backline, as Tokyo Verdy pushed the final score to 5-2, sealing fifth place.

Goals: 1-0: N. Medina, min. 7 (1); 1-1: Datinha, min. 6 (1); 1-2: Datinha, min. 0 (1); 1-3: Rodrigo, min. 0 (1); 2-3: Carballo, min. 4 (2); 2-4: Rodrigo, min. 0 (2); 2-5: Ozu, min. 9 (3);

Levante UD 3-6 BSC Spartak (7th place)

Dmais got the playoff for seventh place underway with a neat finish just minutes into the match, nudging Levante ahead. Riguad doubled the distance between them and Spartak before the break but at the restart Belarus international Hapon twisted and turned to slot in the hosts’ opener.

Sanfilippo restored the two-goal cushion as the Spaniards remained in control but an in-form Kotenev pounded home to make it 3-2.

A second Hapon goal made it 3-3 and once caught, Levante swiftly fell behind to the superior Spartak, as Kotenev completed his hat-trick in stunning beach soccer style, and Raskin headed in his first of the match to wrap up the seventh-place finish.

Goals: 1-0: Dmais, min. 10 (1); 2-0: Riguad, min. 3 (1); 2-1: Hapon, min. 11 (2); 3-1: Sanfilippo, min. 4 (2); 3-2: Kotenev, min. 4 (2); 3-3: Hapon, min. 7 (3); 3-4: Kotenev, min. 7 (3); 3-5: Raskin, min. 5 (3); 3-6: Kotenev, min. 3 (3);

For full details on the Mundialito de Clubes, head to beachsoccer.com


Latest News

All news +

Official partners