First teams reach knockout stage of Euro Winners Cup

The Round of 32 awaits 11 teams after they bag second wins on Day 2 in Nazaré

– 11 teams reach knockout stages
– Casa Benfica hit 22 in to break EWC record
– Kristall back to winning ways

Second wins on Day 2 were enough to confirm the first 11 clubs in the knockout stages of the 2021 Euro Winners Cup.

SC Braga (POR), Sporting (POR), Falfala (ISR), Lokomotiv BSC (RUS), BSC Molniya (UKR), BSC Krylia Sovetov (RUS), Levante (ESP), Artur Music (UKR), CD Melistar (ESP), Real Munster (GER) and FC Delta (RUS) all had their places sealed confirmed in the knockout stages.

Most will, however, have to battle against their qualified groupmates to decide their finishing spots in the groups, as well as their opponents in the next round.

BSC Kristall were not among the early entrants to the next round, despite winning big on Day 2. They will have to wait until tomorrow for their fate to be decided.

If you thought yesterday’s 17 goals from Artur Music was impressive, well that tally was bettered not once, but twice on the second matchday, as Melistar (ESP) put 18 past Telavi (GEO) and then Casa Benfica scored an incredible 22 goals in their first match of the 2021 Euro Winners Cup.

With their emphatic victory, Casa Benfica de Loures made history by breaking the record for the most goals scored by a single team in a single match at the Euro Winners Cup, thanks to Portuguese national team youngsters, Miguel Pintado and Joao Cabral, who scored nine between them, and La Roja striker Chiky Ardil who hit five.

Belarussian international Hardzetski scored twice to help hosts ACD Sotao move to the top of Group A, but the Nazaré side will have to wait until tomorrow to have their place in the final 32 confirmed or denied.

Llorenç Gomez appeared on the sand for Amarelle’s Spaniard debutants as they convincingly defeated a star-studded Marseille BT, and after their victory against Kristall yesterday, San Francisco sit comfortably atop Group B.

Edson Hulk, the Brazilian forward who won the CONMEBOL Top Scorer award just last week, leads the scoring charts with seven goals for Rosh Haayin, who lost on penalties today to Portuguese side GRAP.

Day 3 will see the final 21 places occupied, and 18 teams will exit the competition.

Results Day 2

Group A
CS Djoker (MDA) 3-6 Norsjo (SWE)
ACD O Sótão (POR) 6-1 OS Belenenses (POR)

Group B
BSC Kristall (RUS) 7-0 OS Nazarenos (POR)
Marseille BT (FRA) 4-9 CD San Francisco (ESP)

Group C
Falfala KQ BSC (ISR) 7-5 Raal LA Louviere (BEL)
Sporting CP (POR) 3-2 Varzim SC (POR)

Group D
Lokomotiv BSC (RUS) 8-1 Caxinas (POR)
BSC Molniya (UKR) 12-5 Minots De Marseille (FRA)

Group E
Levante UD (ESP) 6-2 GD Chaves (POR)
BSC Krylia Sovetov (RUS) 5-3 Newteam RCS (BEL)

Group F
CD Melistar (ESP) 18-3 Telavi (GEO)
Artur Music (UKR) 3-2 AD Buarcos 2017 (POR)

Group G
Real Munster (GER) 6-2 Playas De San Javier (ESP)
FC Delta (RUS) 10-0 Vila Flor (POR)

Group H
Farmae Viareggio BS (ITA) 6-1 CD Nacional (POR)
GRAP (POR) 3(4)-(3)3 Rosh Haayin (ISR)

Group I
Newteam Brussels (BEL) 4-2 Bemannia FC (SWE)
Rostocker Robben (GER) 1-3 Nistru (MDA)

Group J
Napoli Patron (GRE) 3-1 CB Caldas Da Rainha (POR)
GD Sesimbra (POR) 1-3 BS Bohemians (CZE)

Group K
Casa Benfica de Loures (POR) 22-3 Porto Mendo (POR)

Group L
Copenhagen BSC (DEN) 3-4 AD Torrejon (ESP)
SC Braga (POR) 5-1 BSC Servit (UKR)

Group M
MFC Spartak (BUL) 6-3 ACD Sotão B (POR)

For full details on the Euro Winners Cup, including results, standings, stats and fixtures, head to

Latest News

All news +

Official partners