Falfala KQ BSC crowned Euro Winners Cup 2023 champions!

They defeated Lengergy Pisa BS, to join the list of competition winners and becoming the sixth side to attain continental glory

Sunday 18th June, marked the final day of the Euro Winners Cup 2023, as the final two teams from the men’s competition, Lenergy Pisa and Falfala KQ BSC battled it out to be crowned the kings of Europe!

The final
The moment the players and fans of Lengergy Pisa BS and Falfala KQ BSC had been waiting for got underway in a rainy Nazaré. It was a bright beginning for the Israeli side, as with just under a minute played in the match, Eliott’s long ranged drop kick was fired into the bottom corner for the opener. The Italians didn’t back down though as Jordan struck the post, and just under a minute after that, Lenergy Pisa BS found the leveler through Ortolini as his strike on the pivot flew into the top corner without a chance for Eliott, with the score at 1-1 after 12 minutes.

Falfala were ahead again early into the second period, as their goalkeeper, Eliott found the net again from long range, and the Israeli team continued to apply pressure, forcing multiple big saves from Casapieri. However, their opponents came back once again as Ste Marinai hit home, and they almost went ahead soon after as Jordan hit the post for the second time in the match.

At the beginning of the third period, tensions were high between the two sides, and Eliott almost found his hat-trick towards the start of the final 12. With just over four minutes left Caspieri was forced to be substituted through a head injury, as Gean was subbed on and made some incredible late saves to keep the Italians in the match, and with no more goals scored in the last period or extra-time, penalties would decide the Euro Winners Cup final.

Captain, Amer Yatim was the man to step up to take the final penalty in the shootout for Falfala KQ BSC after a miss from their opponents, as he smashed his shot down the centre of the goal, winning 5-3 from the spot and making his side the European champions.

The players were ecstatic and had their moment soon after to lift the trophy they had worked so hard for.

After the conclusion of the final, three awards were given out to the top goalscorer, MVP and best goalkeeper. Atlas A.O.’s, Rafael Bokinha won the trophy for top scorer, finding the net an incredible 18 times during the tournament. Bruno Xavier was awarded the MVP award after having a fantastic Euro Winners cup tournament, with some delightful performance throughout. Finally, Eliott was chosen as the best goalkeeper.

3rd/4th place
ACD O Sótão faced Recreativo Huelva in the play-off for 3rd and 4th places. The local side came out on top in the fixture, winning 3-2 against the Spanish side, with Batalha, Bernardo and Duarte Vivo striking for the Portuguese outfit to secure 3rd place.

5th/6th place
We witnessed an absolutely magnificent spectacle in the 5th/6th place play-off as BSC VIT defeated SC Braga, 8-7 to finish their tournament in 5th place. For the Ukrainian side, Rafael Silva and Ryan both scored hat-tricks, whilst Shcherytsia bagged a brace, as Léo Martins found the net three times and brother, Bê Martins fired in two for Portuguese team, who finished 6th.

7th/8th place
ATLAS A.O. defeated Minots de Marseille 7-2 with Tsitsaris scoring a hat-trick in the process, to confirm a seventh place finish in this year’s tournament, as the French side finish eighth. 

What a tournament it has been, see you again in 2024!

To catch up on all things Euro Winners Cup 2023, make sure to visit beachsoccer.com

Latest News

All news +

Official partners