Isle of Wight win 2021 English championship

The Islanders defeated Eastleigh Spitfires in the final on Sunday

Isle of Wight are the new English champions after dominating the first National League in two years.

The Superfinals took place this weekend at Loxford Park in London as Isle of Wight, managed by Caymen Collins, defeated Eastleigh Spitfires in the final by seven goals to one.

Scorers for the Island were Scott Lawson (2), Reanu Grossett (2), Tommy Jackson, Jaz Camara and Nathan Demitrius Franklin with Jake Younie scoring Eastleigh’s only goal.

Isle of Wight players Tommy Jackson and Reanu Grossett won the Best Goalkeeper and Most Valuable Player awards, which were sponsored by Elite Soccer UK.

Bolstered by numerous internationals including Three Lions’ captain Aaron Clarke, as well as exciting fresh talent, the Isle of Wight won their third trophy of the season.

Steve Black, after leading the English women’s national team to second in the European championships, took Portsmouth to third place in the National Beach Soccer League.

FIFA Referee Torsten Gunther, who recently announced his retirement from the sport after returning from the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Russia, officiated the national finals and presented the trophy to the winning team.

Final Standings
Champions – Isle of Wight
Runners-up – Eastleigh Spitfires
3rd-place – Portsmouth

Final – Isle of Wight 7-1 Eastleigh Spitfires
Third-place – Sandown 0-5 Portsmouth

Individual Awards
MVP – Reanu Grossett (Isle of Wight)
Best Goalkeeper – Tommy Jackson (Isle of Wight)


Photo: England Beach Soccer


Latest News

All news +

Official partners