Atiku Bagudu BSC crowned kings of KBSL

The Kebbi Beach Soccer League named its first champions on Sunday

Atiku Bagudu BSC are the beach soccer kings of Kebbi after taking nine points from nine in the Final Stage of the Kebbi Beach Soccer League.

After a thrilling goal fest on Matchday 1 of the KBSL, the teams returned on Matchday 2 with the ambition of yet more goals. Atiku Bagudu BSC had to fight hard to beat Kabawan Kanta BSC by six goals to five in one of the games of the season. Both teams were equally matched and looked like title contenders. 

Iliyasu Sports BSC handed Adamu Augie BSC a heavy 7-1 defeat as they secured their first win in the Super 4 to go level on points with Kabawan Kanta BSC whom they lost to on Day 1. 

With two games played, the stage was set for an exciting final matchday. Atiku Bagudu BSC was in a strong position to win the Super 4, with six points from their opening two matches. However, Kabawan Kanta BSC and Iliyasu Sports BSC were locked on three points each and were in with a chance of emerging as Champions. Atiku Bagudu BSC needed to avoid defeat against a strong Iliyasu Sports BSC, to clinch the trophy, while a win for Kabawan Kanta also put them in contention for the title.

On the third and final matchday, Kabawan Kanta BSC thrashed Adamu Augie 11-1 earning six points in the earlier kick-off, while they waited for a favourable result in the later game. However, the dominant Atiku Bagudu BSC didn’t let any team stand in their way as they defeated a strong Iliyasu Sports BSC to claim the title of first-ever KBSL Champions. 

Congratulations to Atiku Bagudu BSC for winning the maiden edition of KBSL with a 100% record in the Super 4!


Final Standings:

Champions – Atiku Bagudu BSC  (9 points)

2 – Kabawan Kanta BSC  (6 points)

3 – Iliyasu Sports BSC  (3 points)

4 – Adamu Augie BSC  (0 points)


Super Four Finals Results:

Day 1 

Iliyasu Sports BSC 2-4 Kabawan Kanta BSC

Atiku Bagudu BSC 11-6 Adamu Augie BSC 


Day 2

Adamu Augie BSC 1-7 Iliyasu Sports BSC

Kabawan Kanta BSC 5-6 Atiku Bagudu BSC 


Day 3

Adamu Augie BSC 1-11 Kabawan Kanta BSC 

Atiku Bagudu BSC 9-3 Iliyasu Sports BSC 


Individual awards:

Top Scorer: Darda’i Aliyu (Atiku Bagudu BSC).

MVP: Ibrahim Adamu (Kabawan Kanta BSC)

Best Goalkeeper: Abbas Abubakar (Atiku Bagudu BSC)

Rising Star: Husaini Mohammed (Iliyasu Sports Cafe BSC)

Fair Play Award: BAM Project BSC



Photo: KBSL

Latest News

All news +

Official partners