World Beach Games groups confirmed

A draw which took place in Doha on Tuesday morning organised the 24 teams into groups

The inaugural edition of the World Beach Games took one step closer to kicking off when a draw, held today in Doha, Qatar, organised the 16 men’s teams and eight women’s teams into groups of four.

The Games are to be held between 11 and 16 October in the Qatari capital, and will hail a new era of beach soccer within the Olympic family, where one men’s and one women’s team will claim a ground-breaking prize. 

The FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup holders Brazil were drawn alongside their Intercontinental Cup hosts, UAE, as well as Switzerland and Morocco, while the European champions Italy are set to fight yet another battle against their Mediterranean rivals, Spain.

Joining them in Group B are Concacaf champions, Mexico, as well as the OFC representation, Solomon Islands.

In Group C, Intercontinental Cup holders Iran will take on the hosts of this year’s World Cup, Paraguay, as well as UEFA powerhouses Ukraine and Africa’s top side, the Lions of Senegal.

The fourth group sees Asia’s number one side, Japan, set to meet El Salvador, Uruguay and former world champions, Russia.

In the women’s draw, Spain were drawn into Group A first, and were soon joined by the newly-formed Brazilian team, who will meet the champions of the African and North American qualifiers, Mexico and Cape Verde.

The women’s Group B consists of the winners of the qualifier in Salou, England (to play as Great Britain in this event), as well as the European title holders, Russia. The Old Continent’s nations will take on American representation in Doha, in the form of USA and Paraguay.  



Group A: Brazil, Switzerland, UAE and Morocco

Group B: Italy, Spain, Mexico and Solomon Islands

Group C: Iran, Paraguay, Senegal and Ukraine

Group D: Russia, Japan, Uruguay and El Salvador



Group A: Spain, Brazil, Cape Verde and Mexico

Group B: Great Britain, Russia, USA and Paraguay 



Latest News

All news +

Official partners