The USA are the CONCACAF champions

Silveira brace powers USA past Mexico for third title

The United States are champions of the 2023 Concacaf Beach Soccer Championship after defeating rivals Mexico 5-0 in the Final on Sunday at the Malcolm Beach Soccer Facility in Nassau, Bahamas.

It is the third CBSC crown for the U.S. and their first since 2013.

Gabriel Silveira scored two goals to lead the U.S. and got his first score in the first period to give his side a 1-0 lead.

Nicolás Perera and Ricardo Carvalho then added goals to make it a 3-0 U.S. lead after two periods.

Mexico tried to respond but had no answer against a resolute U.S. defense. Tomas Canale tallied a fourth before Silveira closed things out with his second goal of the evening to put a bow on the 5-0 victory.

In the Third Place Match earlier in the day, El Salvador defeated host nation Bahamas 3-2.

After a scoreless first period, the two attacks kicked into gear in the second period, with El Salvador striking first through Heber Ramos.

Jason Urbina then added another two goals for the Cuscatlecos, while James Thompson scored for Bahamas to make it a 3-1 El Salvador advantage after two periods.

Bahamas then closed the gap to 3-2 in the third period courtesy of Kyle Williams, but El Salvador hung on to nail down the third-place finish.


Latest News

All news +

Official partners