Euro Winners Challenge – From Beaches to Stadiums

A look into the development of the Euro Winners Challenge since 2018

Formally known as the Nazaré Cup, the Euro Winners Challenge started in 2018 on sunny shores in the Portuguese region of Nazaré. 

Since its creation, the competition has taken place four times, with a fifth edition taking place in June, as European clubs will go head-to-head for glory on Portuguese sands.

The inaugural edition of the competition featured 32 clubs, containing eight groups of four clubs, as the winners of the eight groups progressed into the Euro Winners Cup 2018. The following year, BSC Lokomotiv were crowned the first champions of the Euro Winners Challenge following the renaming of the competition and format change, with the most recent competition winners being Minots de Marseille in 2023. The French side were granted entry to the quarter-final stage of the Euro Winners Cup 2023 as Euro Winners Challenge champions in a competition which contained 16 teams.

The competition has had three different champions so far. In between title victories from BSC Lokomotiv and Minots de Marseille, Rosh Hayin were the 2022 champions. 

In this year’s competition, the two Euro Winners Challenge finalists will both secure places in the Euro Winners Cup 2025 and for the first time in history, individual awards will be given to the best performers in the competition.

Nazaré will host this year’s competition, as the Euro Winners Challenge will kick-off on 7th June and conclude on 13th June and champions will be crowned in the Portuguese town for the fourth time.

Latest News

All news +

Official partners