AFA’s competitions begin in Argentina

The first ever Women’s National championship took off yesterday in Buenos Aires together with the Men’s competition

A new page of history was written yesterday in Argentina, where the first ever Women’s national beach soccer championship kicked off at Huracan’s sporting centre, La Quemita, in Buenos Aires, as a part of AFA’s Torneo de Primera División. 

The hosts, CA Huracán, Buenos Aires City and Argentino de Rosario kick started the competition with wins, in this first of the ten match days  of the regular phase, with the Globito bagging a big 14-goal win over Atlético Zelaya.

The results were as follows: 

Ituzaingó 1 – Buenos Aires City 3

Huracán 14 – Atlético Zelaya 4

Tigre 2 – Argentino (Rosario) 3

Ángel Sabio, member of the Beach Soccer and Futsal committee of the Argentinean football Association (AFA) highlighted the important step made for Women’s beach soccer in the country: “Beach Soccer is growing in the country thanks to the great commitment and passion by players and clubs, as well as the support by AFA ant its president Claudio Tapia. It is thanks to this spirit and effort that we keep achieving objectives like this first ever Women’s National Beach Soccer Championship”, he said. 


Favourites earn first win in the Men’s division

In the Men’s division of the AFA’s Torneo de Primera División de Fútbol Playa, fourteen teams take part in the Torneo de Fútbol Playa de AFA, with the fourteen contenders making their debut in the competition in the first match day held yesterday. 

In this case, the competition was played in two different venues, Escobar and La Quemita (Huracán), with favorites Acassuso (champions of the Torneo de Transición), Racing Club and Ituzaingó bagging the first points. The biggest win, notwithstanding, was Buenos Aires City’s 16-2 victory over Juventud Unida.  

The results of the first game day were the following: 

Racing Club 6 – Tigre 5

Deportivo Riestra 4 – Acassuso 8

Ferro Carril Oeste 5 – Deportivo Provincial (Lobos) 2

Ituzaingó 4 – Canning 2

Huracán 4 – Argentino (Rosario) 7

Buenos Aires City 16 – Juventud Unida 2

Barracas Central 6 – Zelaya 4

Latest News

All news +

Official partners